10 Authors I’d Love a New Book From

I have a number of authors that I’ve started following over the years, and while some of them are quite prolific, some let years pass between releases. That Artsy Reader Girl’s Top 10 Tuesday prompt this week is authors from whom I want a new release – so here are ten of my favorite authors who don’t release books nearly often enough for my taste. But if you know about coming releases from any of these authors, please give me the good news!

1. Tamora Pierce

Tamora Pierce was one of the first authors whose name I recognized – I started reading the Lioness series when I was about ten, and I’ve read everything she’s published since. My favorite series was always the Immortals series, so I was so excited when a book came out from Numair’s perspective in 2018 I was so excited to get a new series from her, but the next book hasn’t been released yet and I’m getting antsy.

2. Louise Erdrich

I’ve been following Louise Erdrich for almost a decade now, and I really appreciate how rich and complex her worlds are. We haven’t gotten anything from her since The Sentence, and I’m eager to see what she writes next.

3. Helen Hoang

I read The Kiss Quotient a few years ago and loved seeing an autistic character who gets to be the heroine in a romance novel. She wrote two more in the series, and I liked them too, but she hasn’t released anything since The Heart Principle in 2021.

4. Carissa Orlando

Her first published novel, September House, just came out in 2023, but I loved it so much that I’m already excited for whatever she publishes next!

5. Isabel Cañas

I loved her first novel, The Hacienda, and her second, Vampires of El Norte, even if I didn’t feel like it hit quite as hard as the first. Vampires just came out in 2023 so I know we might have a ways to go before she publishes another one, but I’m curious to see what direction she’ll go with it.

6. Victor LaValle

I loved The Ballad of Black Tom, The Changeling, and The Devil in Silver. Lone Women came out in early 2023, and while I did enjoy it, it didn’t stick with me quite as much as the others. That’s probably why I’m eager to get more from him.

7. Trang Thanh Tran

Her first published novel, She is a Haunting, was undoubtedly one of my favorite novels of 2023. I actually had the opportunity to meet with her at AWP 2024, and she said she’s working on something new, so while I know I have awhile to wait, I’m eagerly looking forward to it!

8. Tiffany D. Jackson

She had several fantastic reads come out in a row with Grown, The Weight of Blood, and White Smoke, but I haven’t heard anything about what she might be working on since White Smoke. I’d love to see something new from her.

9. Madeline Miller

Circe is one of my top favorite fantasies, but I haven’t heard of anything new, other than rumors about a possible book about Persephone. I’ve loved the Persephone stories ever since I was a child, so I hope that’s true, but I’d really take anything from her at this point.

10. Angie Thomas

I loved The Hate U Give and Concrete Rose, but I haven’t heard anything about her publishing a novel in quite awhile. I hope she puts something new out soon, especially now that my daughter is old enough to appreciate it.

Leave a comment