10 Characters I’d Like to Go on Vacation With

This is another Top 10 Tuesday prompt from That Artsy Reader Girl, and I have to admit this one really stretched me. So often I tie the characters in a novel in with their world and setting, so it was interesting imagining them in a new place. Do you have any favorites from this list, or anyone else you would like to suggest?

1. Margaret from The September House by Carissa Orlando

Margaret doesn’t get out of her house nearly enough, and that is definitely a running theme throughout the novel. I would love to see how she behaves somewhere far away from her house without Hal there. I think I would get to see an interesting side of her.

2. Cherry from The Princess Trap by Talia Hibbert

I just loved Cherry as a character – she’s smart, funny, and isn’t afraid to stand up for what she believes in. I would love to travel somewhere adventurous with her – I think she’d have interesting insights and would be fun to party with.

3. Molly from The Maid by Nita Prose

I like Molly for the opposite reasons that I like Cherry: Molly is kind, organized, and prepared to brush off whatever life throws at her. She would be an absolute rock during things like a cancelled flight or unexpected rainy weather.

4. Hannah from Below Zero by Ali Hazelwood

I love Hannah purely for the science: I would love to travel to the Arctic with her. I’m sure I would learn a lot from her running commentary.

5. Holly by Stephen King

Holly has featured in several mystery novels by Stephen King – intrigue seems to follow her wherever she goes. I feel like a vacation with Holly would end with a monster and a collection of dead bodies, and sometimes, a good mystery is what you need.

6. Sam from A House with Good Bones by T. Kingfisher

I would absolutely love to go on a real adventure with Sam. As an etymologist, she has widespread knowledge about bugs and plants and habitats of all kinds, and I feel like a long hike through the wilderness somewhere would be fascinating.

7. Gracie from The Stand-In by Lily Chu

Gracie was just such a fun main character – she’s clever and funny and adventurous. I think it would be fun to explore a big city somewhere. She seems like the type that would find all sorts of interesting places.

8. Mouse from The Twisted Ones by T. Kingfisher

Despite Mouse’s claims, she is an absolute mess, constantly getting into trouble that she’s stumbled into. That definitely could be dangerous, but I think it could keep things interesting too. Just about any spot would be more interesting if we were following her lead.

9. Rosaline from Rosaline Palmer Takes the Cake by Alexis Hall

Rosaline has a lot of character growth throughout the novel, but she is fiercely herself, willing to stand up for herself and her beliefs, from start to finish. I think she would be an amazing travel partner no matter where we went.

10. Victoria from Into the Drowning Deep by Mira Grant

Victoria is a boat tour guide at the beginning of the novel, and throughout it we see the complexity of her knowledge about the ocean. I think it would be fun to do a cruise, or some sort of more adventurous exploration of the ocean with her.

5 thoughts on “10 Characters I’d Like to Go on Vacation With

Leave a comment