Top 10 Signs You’re a Book Lover

Hello, all! Well, we have almost made it though March. I know this is a scary time for just about everybody, with covid-19 creeping into your communities, but hopefully you’re all able to stay safe and healthy. I personally loved today’s prompt (thanks to That Artsy Reader Girl’s Top 10 Tuesday) because there are so many different ways to answer this question – just like there are so many different ways to be a book lover.

1. Your bookshelves are overflowing.

This is such a cliche, but that’s because it’s true! I’ve never met a book lover that didn’t have an overflowing bookshelf somewhere in their home. Every now and then I clear mine out and have such good intentions, but it always piles up on me again.

2. You constantly recommend books to others.

I’m terrible about this for sure. I’ve definitely had some winners and recommended some great books to people but I know my friends want to roll their eyes a little every time I say “I found this book that you have to read! I promise you’ll love it!”

3. Your conversations are sprinkled with random bookish connections.

Do you find yourself in the middle of a conversation, and suddenly saying “Oh! That reminds me of this one time in this book when…”? I know I have. But when you’ve found a really great book, you just can’t help but see connections everywhere!

4. You appreciate other media for its literary references.

I know books are almost always better than their movie adaptations, but I just can’t help it – when I see a movie is being made of a book, I get so excited about the possibility of seeing it on screen. But this isn’t just limited to adaptations – when a character in a movie or show or game or even another book references a book that I already love, I get that warm, fuzzy feeling inside.

5. You keep a book with you “just in case”.

This is another cliche, but that’s because it’s true! I always keep a book on me so I have something to do, and I know so many do. I’ve been known to keep a book in my purse or in my car, but now it’s so much easier to do this with smartphones and tablets. Reading is one of my favorite things to do when waiting for an appointment or over my lunch break.

6. If you’re a parent, you encourage your mini-mes to be readers.

I know, I know. Not everyone is born to be a reader, and plenty of reader parents have children who don’t like to read. But book lovers just can’t help but try, at least! My daughter has started reading some of my favorite books from when I was a child, and I just love it when she comes to me excited about a plot point that I remember.

7. You have a favorite reading spot (or several).

I know a lot of people have one specific spot where they like to read, but just as many people have several – and I am one of them! Reading outside on my balcony is always my favorite when weather allows it, but I’m almost as happy reading on my bed, or in my favorite chair at the library.

8. You love to tell stories.

I am a total storyteller, for better or worse. I always have a funny story or three about my children, or work, or friends, and half the time I’m bursting with it. But this isn’t limited to in person – I love to write, and often my stories (fact and fiction) end up on social media as well.

9. You know all the hook-ups for free/cheap books.

And if you don’t already, you should! Public libraries these days have so many resources for free reading. Our library has accounts with Hoopla and Libby, so even with everything shut down, the kids and I have had a pretty good stream of reading materials. Plus I get review copies from authors fairly often – perks of being a book blogger!

10. You have a favorite medium for books.

Don’t tell me some mediums make you a “reader” and some don’t – that’s just ableism in a thin disguise. I read physical books, ebooks, and audiobooks without prejudice. But that being said, for me at least there’s nothing like holding a book in my hands and turning the pages. It does add something to the experience for me. But I know plenty of readers who find audiobooks more manageable, or who prefer the convenience of an ebook.

3 thoughts on “Top 10 Signs You’re a Book Lover

Leave a comment